Artefact vs RTS Labs: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
Artefact (4.3/5) edges ahead of RTS Labs (3.8/5) overall. Artefact is the better choice for european consumer and retail brands, strategy through build. RTS Labs is the stronger option for US firms testing one AI idea on a small budget. The right choice depends on the size of your program, your budget, and whether you want the same firm to build what it recommends.
Artefact vs RTS Labs: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | Artefact | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 2014 | 2010 |
| HQ | Paris, France | Glen Allen, USA |
| Team size | 1,700+ | 100+ |
| Rating | 4.3 / 5 | 3.8 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | Data and AI consulting from strategy partners and engineers in one firm, with a wide European base | The lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks |
| Pricing model | Consulting fees per engagement; rates not published | $25–$49/hr (Clutch band); fixed-scope proofs of concept |
| Min. engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Primary tech stack | Google Cloud, Azure, AWS | AWS, Azure, Python |
| Industries served | Consumer goods, Retail, Luxury, Financial services, Healthcare, Telecom | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Retail |
Artefact vs RTS Labs: overview
Artefact
Artefact was founded in Paris in 2014 and now employs more than 1,700 people in 31 offices across 25 countries. In 2025 private equity firm Cinven bought a majority stake that valued the business at over €1 billion, and Artefact has said it plans to triple in size by 2030 through hiring and acquisitions. Consulting partners handle AI strategy and data governance while its engineers build data platforms and models, so one firm covers the route from roadmap to production. Most clients are large consumer, retail, and luxury brands. Think of it as a European management consultancy with a much bigger data bench than usual.
RTS Labs
RTS Labs is based in the Richmond, Virginia area and says it has 100+ US-based employees (per company website; independently unverifiable). It gives its founding year as 2010, while Clutch lists 2012. The firm says outright that it doesn't deliver strategy decks. Its version of strategy is a feasibility study and proof of concept with a return-on-investment check. Clutch lists $25–$49 an hour and a $5,000+ minimum, the lowest entry point of any firm reviewed here.
Services and capabilities: Artefact vs RTS Labs
| Capability | Artefact | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Readiness assessment | ✗ | ✓ |
| Use-case prioritization | ✗ | ✗ |
| TCO / ROI modeling | ✗ | ✓ |
| AI governance & EU AI Act | ✓ | ✗ |
| Build vs. buy advice | ✗ | ✓ |
| Audit of live AI programs | ✗ | ✗ |
| Change management | ✗ | ✗ |
| Can build what it recommends | ✓ | ✓ |
Frameworks and platforms: Artefact vs RTS Labs
| Framework / platform | Artefact | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| EU AI Act | ✓ | N/A |
| GDPR | ✓ | N/A |
| NIST AI RMF | N/A | N/A |
| AWS | ✓ | ✓ |
| Azure | ✓ | ✓ |
| Google Cloud | ✓ | N/A |
| Databricks | ✓ | N/A |
| Snowflake | ✓ | ✓ |
Pricing comparison: Artefact vs RTS Labs
| Criterion | Artefact | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Engagement models | Strategy & roadmap engagement, Delivery team, Ongoing advisory | Readiness assessment, Delivery team |
| Rate transparency | Not public | Minimum disclosed |
| Price tier | Mid-market | Accessible |
Target audience comparison: Artefact vs RTS Labs
| Dimension | Artefact | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Best company size | Mid-market to enterprise | Startup to mid-market |
| Best industries | Consumer goods, Retail, Luxury | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare |
| Best use cases | Building a data and AI roadmap for a consumer brand selling in several European markets., Setting up data governance before expanding marketing AI. | Testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it., Logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies. |
| Typical project type | Strategy & roadmap engagement | Readiness assessment |
Artefact vs RTS Labs: pros and cons
| Artefact | |
|---|---|
| + | Strategy partners and data engineers work in one firm, so the plan and the build share owners |
| + | Offices in 25 countries help companies running AI programs across several markets |
| + | Runs its own training school (Artefact School of Data) for client teams |
| + | Deep experience with consumer and retail brands on marketing and customer data |
| - | Majority-owned by Cinven since 2025, with an acquisition-led growth plan that may reshape teams and focus |
| - | Clients skew toward large brands, so smaller companies may find engagements heavier than they need |
| - | Less visible in industrial and manufacturing AI than in consumer sectors |
| RTS Labs | |
|---|---|
| + | A $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest entry point reviewed here |
| + | Proofs of concept test an idea on real data before a big commitment |
| + | Return-on-investment checks are part of the feasibility work |
| + | All-US team for clients that need domestic staff |
| - | Deliberately light on strategy, so a company-wide roadmap is outside its scope |
| - | US-only team with no European regulatory work |
| - | Founding year and headcount differ between its own site and Clutch |
Who should choose Artefact?
A typical fit: building a data and AI roadmap for a consumer brand selling in several European markets.
Data and AI consulting from strategy partners and engineers in one firm, with a wide European base. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Consumer goods, Retail, Luxury, Financial services, Healthcare, Telecom.
Who should choose RTS Labs?
A typical fit: testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it.
The lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks. Minimum engagement starts at $5,000+ (Clutch). Works best with clients in Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Retail.
Decision matrix: Artefact vs RTS Labs
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| Your board wants a costed, sequenced roadmap within a quarter | Neither lists cost modeling; ask for a sample roadmap |
| You already run AI that is missing its targets | Neither offers a separate audit; ask for a scoped review |
| Regulators will ask how each AI system is governed | Artefact |
| AI will change roles and processes for many staff | Neither; plan change management separately |
| You want the strategy firm to build the result too | Both can deliver after the strategy |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Compare: Artefact (Not disclosed) vs RTS Labs ($5,000+ (Clutch)) |
| You need a large team across many countries | Artefact |
Use case fit: Artefact vs RTS Labs
| Use case | Artefact fit | RTS Labs fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Building a data and AI roadmap for a consumer brand selling in several European markets. | Strong | Limited | Artefact |
| Setting up data governance before expanding marketing AI. | Strong | Limited | Artefact |
| Testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
| Logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
Verdict: Artefact vs RTS Labs
Artefact (4.3/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Strategy Consulting projects. Data and AI consulting from strategy partners and engineers in one firm, with a wide European base.
RTS Labs (3.8/5) is worth a look if you need logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies. If your situation matches that, RTS Labs is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
Artefact vs RTS Labs FAQ
Is Artefact better than RTS Labs?
Artefact (4.3/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. Artefact's strongest advantage: strategy partners and data engineers work in one firm, so the plan and the build share owners. RTS Labs's strongest advantage: a $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest entry point reviewed here.
How do Artefact and RTS Labs differ in pricing?
Artefact's pricing: consulting fees per engagement; rates not published. RTS Labs's pricing: $25–$49/hr (Clutch band); fixed-scope proofs of concept with a minimum engagement of $5,000+ (Clutch). Any hourly bands shown come from Clutch, not a published rate card, so a scoping call is still needed for a project quote.
Which is better for enterprise: Artefact or RTS Labs?
Artefact is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each consultant before shortlisting.
What are the main differences between Artefact and RTS Labs?
Artefact's primary differentiator is: data and AI consulting from strategy partners and engineers in one firm, with a wide European base. RTS Labs's primary differentiator is: the lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks. They also differ in team size (1,700+ vs 100+), minimum engagement (Not disclosed vs $5,000+ (Clutch)), and primary industries served (Consumer goods, Retail vs Logistics, Financial services).
Verify all details directly with each consultant before making a decision.