Top AI Strategy Consultants

BCG X vs RTS Labs: full comparison for 2026

Quick verdict

BCG X (4.3/5) edges ahead of RTS Labs (3.8/5) overall. BCG X is the better choice for enterprises wanting prototypes built during strategy. RTS Labs is the stronger option for US firms testing one AI idea on a small budget. The right choice depends on the size of your program, your budget, and whether you want the same firm to build what it recommends.

BCG X vs RTS Labs: head-to-head summary

Criterion BCG X RTS Labs
Founded 2022 2010
HQ Boston, USA Glen Allen, USA
Team size 3,000+ 100+
Rating 4.3 / 5 3.8 / 5
Primary differentiator Builds working prototypes during the strategy phase, with BCG's industry and change practices behind it The lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks
Pricing model Project fees per engagement; rates not published $25–$49/hr (Clutch band); fixed-scope proofs of concept
Min. engagement Not disclosed $5,000+ (Clutch)
Primary tech stack AWS, Azure, Google Cloud AWS, Azure, Python
Industries served Financial services, Consumer & retail, Industrial goods, Healthcare, Energy, Public sector Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Retail

BCG X vs RTS Labs: overview

BCG X

BCG X launched in 2022, when Boston Consulting Group merged BCG Digital Ventures, BCG Gamma, and BCG Platinion into one unit. Job listings put it at 3,000+ technologists, data scientists, engineers, and designers in more than 80 cities (per company job postings; independently unverifiable). The difference from a pure strategy team is timing. Prototypes get built during planning, so a board can see a working version before it approves the full program. BCG's industry practices and change work back it up, and its fees match BCG's, which keeps most mid-market companies out.

RTS Labs

RTS Labs is based in the Richmond, Virginia area and says it has 100+ US-based employees (per company website; independently unverifiable). It gives its founding year as 2010, while Clutch lists 2012. The firm says outright that it doesn't deliver strategy decks. Its version of strategy is a feasibility study and proof of concept with a return-on-investment check. Clutch lists $25–$49 an hour and a $5,000+ minimum, the lowest entry point of any firm reviewed here.

Services and capabilities: BCG X vs RTS Labs

Capability BCG X RTS Labs
Readiness assessment ✗ ✓
Use-case prioritization ✓ ✗
TCO / ROI modeling ✗ ✓
AI governance & EU AI Act ✗ ✗
Build vs. buy advice ✓ ✓
Audit of live AI programs ✗ ✗
Change management ✓ ✗
Can build what it recommends ✓ ✓

Frameworks and platforms: BCG X vs RTS Labs

Framework / platform BCG X RTS Labs
EU AI Act N/A N/A
GDPR N/A N/A
NIST AI RMF N/A N/A
AWS ✓ ✓
Azure ✓ ✓
Google Cloud ✓ N/A
Databricks N/A N/A
Snowflake N/A ✓

Pricing comparison: BCG X vs RTS Labs

Criterion BCG X RTS Labs
Minimum engagement Not disclosed $5,000+ (Clutch)
Engagement models Strategy & roadmap engagement, Delivery team Readiness assessment, Delivery team
Rate transparency Not public Minimum disclosed
Price tier Mid-market Accessible

Target audience comparison: BCG X vs RTS Labs

Dimension BCG X RTS Labs
Best company size Mid-market to enterprise Startup to mid-market
Best industries Financial services, Consumer & retail, Industrial goods Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare
Best use cases Testing a new AI-driven product with a working prototype before board approval., Sector-specific AI value cases for a large bank, insurer, or industrial company. Testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it., Logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies.
Typical project type Strategy & roadmap engagement Readiness assessment

BCG X vs RTS Labs: pros and cons

BCG X
+ Prototypes come out of the strategy phase, so feasibility is tested before the budget is committed
+ Draws on BCG's industry practices for sector-specific value cases
+ Organization and change work is available from the wider firm
+ Designers work next to engineers, which matters when AI changes a customer-facing product
- BCG-level fees keep it out of reach for most mid-market companies
- Strategy and build are sold by the same firm, which can tilt the roadmap toward work BCG X will deliver
- Formed by merging three units in 2022, so ask how strategy and engineering staff are combined on your project
RTS Labs
+ A $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest entry point reviewed here
+ Proofs of concept test an idea on real data before a big commitment
+ Return-on-investment checks are part of the feasibility work
+ All-US team for clients that need domestic staff
- Deliberately light on strategy, so a company-wide roadmap is outside its scope
- US-only team with no European regulatory work
- Founding year and headcount differ between its own site and Clutch

Who should choose BCG X?

A typical fit: testing a new AI-driven product with a working prototype before board approval.

Builds working prototypes during the strategy phase, with BCG's industry and change practices behind it. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Financial services, Consumer & retail, Industrial goods, Healthcare, Energy, Public sector.

Who should choose RTS Labs?

A typical fit: testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it.

The lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks. Minimum engagement starts at $5,000+ (Clutch). Works best with clients in Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Retail.

Decision matrix: BCG X vs RTS Labs

Your situation Recommended choice
Your board wants a costed, sequenced roadmap within a quarter Neither lists cost modeling; ask for a sample roadmap
You already run AI that is missing its targets Neither offers a separate audit; ask for a scoped review
Regulators will ask how each AI system is governed Neither lists governance work; add a specialist
AI will change roles and processes for many staff BCG X
You want the strategy firm to build the result too Both can deliver after the strategy
Your budget is at the lower end Compare: BCG X (Not disclosed) vs RTS Labs ($5,000+ (Clutch))
You need a large team across many countries BCG X

Use case fit: BCG X vs RTS Labs

Use case BCG X fit RTS Labs fit Winner
Testing a new AI-driven product with a working prototype before board approval. Strong Limited BCG X
Sector-specific AI value cases for a large bank, insurer, or industrial company. Strong Limited BCG X
Testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it. Limited Strong RTS Labs
Logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies. Limited Strong RTS Labs

Verdict: BCG X vs RTS Labs

BCG X (4.3/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Strategy Consulting projects. Builds working prototypes during the strategy phase, with BCG's industry and change practices behind it.

RTS Labs (3.8/5) is worth a look if you need logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies. If your situation matches that, RTS Labs is a competitive option.

Related comparisons

BCG X vs RTS Labs FAQ

Is BCG X better than RTS Labs?

BCG X (4.3/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. BCG X's strongest advantage: prototypes come out of the strategy phase, so feasibility is tested before the budget is committed. RTS Labs's strongest advantage: a $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest entry point reviewed here.

How do BCG X and RTS Labs differ in pricing?

BCG X's pricing: project fees per engagement; rates not published. RTS Labs's pricing: $25–$49/hr (Clutch band); fixed-scope proofs of concept with a minimum engagement of $5,000+ (Clutch). Any hourly bands shown come from Clutch, not a published rate card, so a scoping call is still needed for a project quote.

Which is better for enterprise: BCG X or RTS Labs?

BCG X is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each consultant before shortlisting.

What are the main differences between BCG X and RTS Labs?

BCG X's primary differentiator is: builds working prototypes during the strategy phase, with BCG's industry and change practices behind it. RTS Labs's primary differentiator is: the lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks. They also differ in team size (3,000+ vs 100+), minimum engagement (Not disclosed vs $5,000+ (Clutch)), and primary industries served (Financial services, Consumer & retail vs Logistics, Financial services).

Verify all details directly with each consultant before making a decision.