DAIN Studios vs RTS Labs: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
DAIN Studios (4.1/5) edges ahead of RTS Labs (3.8/5) overall. DAIN Studios is the better choice for nordic and German firms wanting advisory-led AI planning. RTS Labs is the stronger option for US firms testing one AI idea on a small budget. The right choice depends on the size of your program, your budget, and whether you want the same firm to build what it recommends.
DAIN Studios vs RTS Labs: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | DAIN Studios | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 2016 | 2010 |
| HQ | Helsinki, Finland | Glen Allen, USA |
| Team size | 80+ | 100+ |
| Rating | 4.1 / 5 | 3.8 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | Advisory-led AI and data strategy, with governance and skills building for Nordic and German clients | The lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks |
| Pricing model | Project fees; rates on request | $25–$49/hr (Clutch band); fixed-scope proofs of concept |
| Min. engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Primary tech stack | Azure, AWS, Google Cloud | AWS, Azure, Python |
| Industries served | Manufacturing, Retail, Media, Financial services, Public sector, Logistics | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Retail |
DAIN Studios vs RTS Labs: overview
DAIN Studios
DAIN Studios was founded in 2016 and works from Helsinki, Berlin, and Munich with a team of about 80. German technology group Körber took a majority stake in December 2021, and DAIN still trades as its own brand. The work leans toward advice: AI and data strategy, governance, and helping client teams build skills of their own. Nordic and German companies that want planning help without signing up a large build partner are its natural buyers.
RTS Labs
RTS Labs is based in the Richmond, Virginia area and says it has 100+ US-based employees (per company website; independently unverifiable). It gives its founding year as 2010, while Clutch lists 2012. The firm says outright that it doesn't deliver strategy decks. Its version of strategy is a feasibility study and proof of concept with a return-on-investment check. Clutch lists $25–$49 an hour and a $5,000+ minimum, the lowest entry point of any firm reviewed here.
Services and capabilities: DAIN Studios vs RTS Labs
| Capability | DAIN Studios | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Readiness assessment | ✓ | ✓ |
| Use-case prioritization | ✗ | ✗ |
| TCO / ROI modeling | ✗ | ✓ |
| AI governance & EU AI Act | ✓ | ✗ |
| Build vs. buy advice | ✗ | ✓ |
| Audit of live AI programs | ✗ | ✗ |
| Change management | ✗ | ✗ |
| Can build what it recommends | ✗ | ✓ |
Frameworks and platforms: DAIN Studios vs RTS Labs
| Framework / platform | DAIN Studios | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| EU AI Act | ✓ | N/A |
| GDPR | ✓ | N/A |
| NIST AI RMF | N/A | N/A |
| AWS | ✓ | ✓ |
| Azure | ✓ | ✓ |
| Google Cloud | ✓ | N/A |
| Databricks | N/A | N/A |
| Snowflake | N/A | ✓ |
Pricing comparison: DAIN Studios vs RTS Labs
| Criterion | DAIN Studios | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Engagement models | Strategy & roadmap engagement, Readiness assessment, Ongoing advisory | Readiness assessment, Delivery team |
| Rate transparency | Not public | Minimum disclosed |
| Price tier | Mid-market | Accessible |
Target audience comparison: DAIN Studios vs RTS Labs
| Dimension | DAIN Studios | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Best company size | Startup to mid-market | Startup to mid-market |
| Best industries | Manufacturing, Retail, Media | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare |
| Best use cases | AI readiness and data strategy for a Nordic or German mid-size company., Setting up AI governance ahead of EU AI Act obligations. | Testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it., Logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies. |
| Typical project type | Strategy & roadmap engagement | Readiness assessment |
DAIN Studios vs RTS Labs: pros and cons
| DAIN Studios | |
|---|---|
| + | Advice is less tied to a large build contract than at most firms on this list |
| + | Governance and EU regulation are part of the core offer |
| + | Builds client teams' own skills so they depend less on consultants |
| + | Small enough that senior staff run the engagement |
| - | Majority-owned by Körber since 2021, worth noting if you compete with Körber's businesses |
| - | Too small for large implementation programs |
| - | Limited presence outside the Nordics and German-speaking markets |
| RTS Labs | |
|---|---|
| + | A $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest entry point reviewed here |
| + | Proofs of concept test an idea on real data before a big commitment |
| + | Return-on-investment checks are part of the feasibility work |
| + | All-US team for clients that need domestic staff |
| - | Deliberately light on strategy, so a company-wide roadmap is outside its scope |
| - | US-only team with no European regulatory work |
| - | Founding year and headcount differ between its own site and Clutch |
Who should choose DAIN Studios?
A typical fit: AI readiness and data strategy for a Nordic or German mid-size company.
Advisory-led AI and data strategy, with governance and skills building for Nordic and German clients. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Manufacturing, Retail, Media, Financial services, Public sector, Logistics.
Who should choose RTS Labs?
A typical fit: testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it.
The lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks. Minimum engagement starts at $5,000+ (Clutch). Works best with clients in Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Retail.
Decision matrix: DAIN Studios vs RTS Labs
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| Your board wants a costed, sequenced roadmap within a quarter | Neither lists cost modeling; ask for a sample roadmap |
| You already run AI that is missing its targets | Neither offers a separate audit; ask for a scoped review |
| Regulators will ask how each AI system is governed | DAIN Studios |
| AI will change roles and processes for many staff | Neither; plan change management separately |
| You want the strategy firm to build the result too | RTS Labs |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Compare: DAIN Studios (Not disclosed) vs RTS Labs ($5,000+ (Clutch)) |
| You need a large team across many countries | RTS Labs |
Use case fit: DAIN Studios vs RTS Labs
| Use case | DAIN Studios fit | RTS Labs fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| AI readiness and data strategy for a Nordic or German mid-size company. | Strong | Limited | DAIN Studios |
| Setting up AI governance ahead of EU AI Act obligations. | Strong | Limited | DAIN Studios |
| Testing one AI idea with a proof of concept before funding it. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
| Logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
Verdict: DAIN Studios vs RTS Labs
DAIN Studios (4.1/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Strategy Consulting projects. Advisory-led AI and data strategy, with governance and skills building for Nordic and German clients.
RTS Labs (3.8/5) is worth a look if you need logistics and supply-chain models for mid-size US companies. If your situation matches that, RTS Labs is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
DAIN Studios vs RTS Labs FAQ
Is DAIN Studios better than RTS Labs?
DAIN Studios (4.1/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. DAIN Studios's strongest advantage: advice is less tied to a large build contract than at most firms on this list. RTS Labs's strongest advantage: a $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest entry point reviewed here.
How do DAIN Studios and RTS Labs differ in pricing?
DAIN Studios's pricing: project fees; rates on request. RTS Labs's pricing: $25–$49/hr (Clutch band); fixed-scope proofs of concept with a minimum engagement of $5,000+ (Clutch). Any hourly bands shown come from Clutch, not a published rate card, so a scoping call is still needed for a project quote.
Which is better for enterprise: DAIN Studios or RTS Labs?
RTS Labs is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each consultant before shortlisting.
What are the main differences between DAIN Studios and RTS Labs?
DAIN Studios's primary differentiator is: advisory-led AI and data strategy, with governance and skills building for Nordic and German clients. RTS Labs's primary differentiator is: the lowest entry point reviewed here, with feasibility proofs in place of strategy decks. They also differ in team size (80+ vs 100+), minimum engagement (Not disclosed vs $5,000+ (Clutch)), and primary industries served (Manufacturing, Retail vs Logistics, Financial services).
Verify all details directly with each consultant before making a decision.